How To Turn Off Snapchat’s Stalkerish Snap Map Feature

Snapchat has at all times established exactly wherein you are. What, you thought everybody saw that “Greetings from the Brooklyn Bridge” filter?

Until recently, Snapchat didn’t do an awful lot with your location archives beyond serving up geofilters and pushing region-specific stories. Sure, the app uses your whereabouts to help agents sell you stuff, then again what social media behemoth does not?This week, though, Snapchat unveiled a feature that leverages your vicinity records in a whole new manner, and it’s got a lot of individuals freaked out. Snap Map tracks your present location and locations your Bitmoji avatar on a map like a pin. Others can zoom in and discover exactly in which you are, down to the street address. It’s form of like Apple’s Find My Friends and Facebook’s Live Location feature—only, you know, on Snapchat.Obviously, Snapchat sees Snap Map as a a laugh and convenient way to attach with friends. But for a brilliant deal of people, the new feature is just plain creepy. Some fret about the “stalker factor,” especially for Snapchat’s more youthful users who could not completely grasp the implications of a era that continually proclaims their vicinity.How to Opt OutThe good news: Snap Maps is technically opt-in. It doesn’t take final result until you update the app and cross thru the feature’s on-boarding flow. Once you do that, though, or not it’s pretty straightforward (as some distance as Snapchat goes) to opt-out of sharing your region with others. If you’re establishing the app for the first time after the update, Snapchat will walk you thru a step by step academic on how to use the Snap Map. First, it’ll demonstrate you how to pinch and zoom in the camera tool to access the map. Next, it’ll ask who you desire to see your vicinity.You get three choices: all your friends, settle on friends, or most effective me. Choosing “most effective me” activates what Snapchat calls Ghost Mode. This makes your avatar disappear from others’ maps; like real poltergeist, you can go to others in spite of this they can’t visit you. Great for lurkers! But remember, Snapchat’s all seeing, all knowing eyes (ahem, your phone’s sensors) can still track your vicinity.

To turn off vicinity documents altogether, you’ll want to stopover at your phone’s settings wherein you can scroll down to Snapchat, click on “location,” and settle on to never share.If you’ve already long gone thru the tutorial and desire to amendment who can stopover at you on their map, this is easy, too. Open Snap Map and click on the surroundings menu in the right hand corner, wherein you can come to a decision who gets the privilege of tracking your each move.